I “like” this!

Today on FB, I hit the “like” button for this:

“I’m ready for apple picking, pumpkins, bonfires, hoodies, crunchy leaves and Halloween!”

Unfortunately, Alabama isn’t.  It’s still in the 90’s during the day and has gotten down into the upper 60’s/low 70’s at night.  So that knocks out hoodies and bonfires.  Crunchy leaves?  Guess I’ll have to wait a bit longer; right now, it’s still just crunchy grass.

I have to admit, I love the longer growing season with the greater availability of fresh, locally-grown produce.  I’ll love it even more when we have a garden of our own!  Longer summers are quite nice, I have to say.  Shorter winters will be nice, too, but I’ll get into that another time.

Autumn, now, that’s my favorite season.  I always loved it–the crisp nights, the dry, still-somewhat-warm days, the amazing, fiery colors of the leaves contrasting with a clear, blue sky, the smell of fallen leaves, the aroma of pumpkin spice coffee, the apple orchards, pumpkin patches, so much that is unique to fall, especially in New England.

I loved autumn so much that I always said I’d get married in October.  I pictured a beautiful, outdoor wedding with a white dress, trees whose leaves have been painted by the Master painter and, hopefully, that clear, blue sky.  A wedding of such contrasting and vibrant colors!

So, my wedding anniversary is in…drum roll…May!  Why did I give up my girlhood dream of a beautiful autumn wedding?  Well, originally we had planned it for the fall in New England, but there began to grow a list of reasons why not to have it in New England or in the fall.

First, the majority of my husband’s family probably wouldn’t have been able to make the trip.  Come to think of it, I may not have been able to make the trip, either, being a full-time graduate student without a job.  That could have posed a slight problem.

Second, I’m of Armenian descent.  Do you understand what that means?  Ever seen the movie “My Great Big Fat Greek Wedding”?  When we first watched that movie, my husband laughed, looked at me and said, “That’s YOUR family!”.  Substitute “Armenian” for “Greek”, take out the Greek flag, Windex, and all the Nicks, and you’re left with my huge, extended, mostly Armenian family who lives loves to eat.

Weddings in our family were typically over 300 people, most of whom you couldn’t remember how they’re related to you.  Growing up calling second cousins “Uncle” or “Auntie” only adds to the confusion.  But, forget second cousins.  When you combine both sides of our family, there are over 40 first cousins.  Add to that uncles, aunts, second cousins, third cousins, possibly fourth cousins, friends of ours, friends of the family, and whoever else you might have to invite so as not to upset the balance of the universe, and you end up with a huge wedding that we simply could not have afforded.

I knew that, just as the in-laws-to-be and, possibly, I wouldn’t have made it to a New England wedding, most, if not all, of my relatives probably wouldn’t have been able come to an Alabama wedding.  So, in terms of time, money, and not wanting to be perceived as a thoughtless Yankee to my future in-laws, it made sense to have the wedding in Alabama.

Initially, I was still set on autumn.  However, Alabama doesn’t have the beautiful fall foliage you get up north .  The first year I lived here, I remembered scoffing, “The leaves just turned yellow and brown and fell off!”  My husband insists there are more colors than yellow and brown, but, regardless if that’s true, they are all muted versions of the bright reds, oranges,  yellows, and golds that I grew up admiring.  There went my wedding of contrasts and vibrant colors of nature.

An autumn wedding was no longer a priority, so we moved it up to May, when the heat was still bearable.  My parents and paternal grandmother made the trip down.

My grandmother talked about our wedding for years!  It was like no wedding she’d ever attended, but she still enjoyed it.  But, that, too, is another story for another day.  Right now, I need to go throw in a load of laundry;  I’m out of the 3 pairs of shorts that I can still fit into.  Then, I’m going to make some pumpkin spice coffee…iced, of course.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in America, Family, Life, Movies, Weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I “like” this!

  1. Lissie says:

    love this blog! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

