9-11

First, a prayer to all those who lost loved ones in the attacks of  September 11, 2001.

Alan Jackson penned the song “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning” after the 9-11 attacks.  It’s fitting;  no one will ever forget where they were.

Less than one week before that day, we had just moved into a new house in our small NH town.  Our son was a first grader at school; our daughter was almost three years old and was with me, a stay-at-home mom.

My husband called me after the first plane hit and asked if I was watching the news.  Well, I was after that.  I called my Mom and we chatted a few moments, with disbelief that something like that could have happened, then I went back to the news.  Then, I saw the second plane hit.  That was when the world really stopped turning.

It was at that moment that our world changed; when something we thought, perhaps even hoped was a horrible, tragic accident was instantly clarified as being an evil, deliberate attack.  Deep down, maybe a small part of each of us already knew that.

I was glued to the t.v., while my daughter innocently played.  I watched, in shock, as the first tower fell.  When the second fell, it was more of a numbness.  My son was sent home early from school and said the teacher had told them to ask their parents what had happened.  I told him the general idea, which was awful enough without the specifics, and didn’t allow him to watch much, if any, of it;  I don’t remember.

Looking back, the rest of the day is a blur consisting of images on the news and the normal happenings of having two kids.  Our lives and our country have never truly been the same, though, have they?  As well they shouldn’t.

Darryl Worley  wrote the song “Have You Forgotten”.  No, we haven’t.

Last, a prayer for all those left behind, a whole country made up of individuals whose hearts and souls need the healing and comforting touch of the hand of God, as well as his continued protection.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in America. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

