The Belated Gift

My daughter is the younger of my two children and, over the years, has suffered the consequences of her birth order:  hand-me-downs of toys, electronics, clothing that might pass as a girl’s, significantly fewer photos and videos of her childhood years, and so on.

Not too long ago, while I was driving somewhere with her, she had a “bad day” and some of the apparently internalized resentment poured out of her like Niagara Falls before they dammed it.  Perhaps I should rephrase that:  before the dam was built.

Most of her venting was about the fact that she had NEVER gotten ANY of the technological stuff that her BROTHER had gotten and, in some cases, ruined, broke, lost or “had stolen”, etc..   She tearfully spoke of how WELL she takes care of HER things, yet WE, her parents, had grouped the two of them together when saying that we would NOT be buying any more of the newest, latest, greatest technological devices because THEY didn’t take care of them.

As her frustrated words bounced off all the interior surfaces of the car, I found myself admitting she had a point and started feeling very, very small;  you know that feeling I’m talking about?    Fortunately, it’s only a psychological shrinking, otherwise I would have had to find some extenders for the gas and brake pedals, short as I am, already!

Well, yesterday, she finally got her first electronic device that was not merely a radio or alarm clock or lamp.  She got an iPod Nano.  Fifth generation.  8 GB. But let me back up, a bit.

First, I ordered it off of EBay to arrive the day of or after her birthday.  Buying on EBay can be great if you know how to shop EBay without getting ripped off.  I do, so we’re good.  Unfortunately, I completely forgot that the last time I ordered off of EBay, we still lived in NH.  Oops.

The day after her birthday, I’m on the computer, checking the tracking of the package, which was only coming from FL and I see it’s up in NH.  “Oops.” (I say a few other things, too, but there’s no need to divulge them.)

I call the post office up there and they assure me it’s already in the “forward” pile.  You remember that small feeling?  Well, there it was again.

Now, for some reason, when mailed from FL to NH, the package only took one day.  Things mailed from NH to AL or vice versa, apparently take much longer.  Four days, five if you include Sunday, which my hormonal, pre-teen daughter did, I’m sure.  Of course, I can’t blame her.  Part of the slowness is small-town NH and part of it is just Alabama.  Anyways, it finally arrived yesterday.  (See first entry, which is actually last actual entry.)

Detailed Results:

Delivered, September 23, 2010, 1:55 pm, Lower, AL
Processed through Sort Facility, September 23, 2010, 2:30 am, MONTGOMERY, AL
Processed through Sort Facility, September 22, 2010, 1:21 am, NASHUA, NH
Forwarded, September 18, 2010, 10:33 am, Old Town , NH
Out for Delivery or Available at PO Box, September 18, 2010, 8:17 am, Old Town, NH
Sorting Complete, September 18, 2010, 7:47 am, Old Town, NH
Arrival at Post Office, September 18, 2010, 7:33 am, Old Town, NH
Processed through Sort Facility, September 17, 2010, 11:16 pm, NASHUA, NH
Electronic Shipping Info Received, September 17, 2010
Processed through Sort Facility, September 17, 2010, 12:39 am, TAMPA, FL

It arrived in a yellow bubble envelope.  So, I got the scissors and cut the envelope open.  “Oops.” My husband, who was home for lunch, heard the oops,  saw the reason, and busted out laughing.   One of the “bonus” items was a blue rubber thing that you put the iPod in for extra protection.  Not from scissors, though.  So, now the corner was slightly notched.  Okay, I snipped off the entire upper right corner of the silly thing.  Not a big deal, at least I didn’t cut any wires or something really important.  (Always looking at the bright side, that’s me.)

I took the iPod and all its accessories, minus the blue rubber bonus, and went to pick her up at school, so she wouldn’t have to sit in the 96 degree heat, waiting 45 minutes for the bus to bring her home.  She was thrilled that her iPod had finally arrived.  Told me not to worry about the blue rubber bonus thing.  Whew!

I dropped her off at home, went to do some errands, and, when I got back, was told that my son also had a good laugh at my “oops”.  Again, that’s my gift to humanity–laughing at or with me, but usually at me.

One of these days, I will discuss technology:  my opinion of it and lack of ability to use it, as demonstrated by this iPod Nano…thing.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

