Choices

The other day, I had run to my local Wally World to pick up a few things.  I actually stuck to my short list and got out relatively monetarily unscathed.  (See?  Miracles DO happen!)

I was in the health & beauty section, searching for mouthwash, when I almost bumped into a 30-something-year-old man looking at wipes.  Yes, those kind.  In the five seconds I saw him, I could tell he was having great difficulty figuring out which wipes would be the best.  He would pick up one, put it down, pick up another, put it down, go back to the other one, sigh in frustration, etc..

Wanting to be helpful, I informed him that I had found “Brand A” to be the best value and I really liked them.  He thanked me, almost with relief, and the last I saw of him, he was putting a package of said wipes into his Wally World buggy.  Meanwhile, I walked away thinking, “I can’t believe I just informed a total stranger what I like to wipe my bum with!”

So, I found the mouthwash aisle.  Ten minutes later, I was wishing someone would just come along and tell me which mouthwash worked the best for them.  No such luck.  I finally chose one, then headed to the grocery section of the store, hoping I wouldn’t run into Wet Wipe Man, and thankful that I didn’t have to decide which brand of bread to buy.  I’d probably still be there.

Remember the days when you’d go to the store to buy something and there were (oxymoron alert) so many fewer choices?  For bread there was Wonder Bread or the split-top wheat.  Toothpaste: Crest or Colgate.  Toilet paper: Charmin or sandpaper.   Okay, there were probably a few more choices than that, but nowhere near as many as we have now.

Nowadays, the variety of things we are offered is incredible!  Not just bread, toothpaste, toilet paper and wet wipes, either.  There’s our vehicles, toothbrushes, paper plates, napkins, socks, teas, printers, cameras, pens, nail polish, apples, cereals, and razor blades, to name very few.   And, although it is nice to have so many choices, there sure are times when I wish things were simpler and only two or three items were offered.  Think of all the time we would save!  And, c’mon, I know we’ve come a long way from using the edge of a knife, but do we really need five blades on one razor cartridge?

Well, I’ve got to go.  My Southern man wants to spend a little time cuddled up on the couch with me, watching television.   Now, what to watch….

Oh, and by the way (shhh, it’s our little secret!):

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in house & home, Humor, Hygiene, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

