Oh, Crud!

Two out of four of us are down with what is referred to by many Alabamians as “The Crud”: a bug (that’s what we Yanks would call it) that involves a lot of coughing, congestion, sore throat, stuffy heads, sinuses, noses, and, for some lucky ones, an added bonus of “stomach issues”.  My Southern man has had it for about a week, our son got it soon after, I’ve either got a mild case or am still battling getting it, and our daughter remains healthy, except for more sneezing (and complaining that she doesn’t feel good) than usual, today.

I have to say calling it “The Crud” is definitely an apt title.  Pretty much says it all.  You both feel like it and are full of it.  (There’s another word one could substitute for crud, but this is supposed to be G-rated.)  When you tell someone, “I have ‘The Crud'”, they know exactly what you mean.  (I have to admit, I keep having to correct myself because I keep transposing the letters “r” and “u” and type “The Curd”–which could also be a descriptive adjective for some of the by-products of coughi…never mind.)

Anyways, as a result of all this, we decided to do our fellow humans a favor and stayed home from church.  So, what have we done all day?  Well, as I sit here typing this (in my pajamas), my son is playing Xbox (in his pajamas), my daughter is doing her homework (in her pajamas), and my Southern man is on the couch reading and laughing as our son repeatedly “dies”  and “respawns” in his Xbox game.  And, yes, even he is in his pajamas!  (Although, at least he took a shower and changed his skivvies…at 5:00 p.m., but still….)

Nala

This is a list of activities, not including the aforementioned ones as well as eating, drinking, etc., that we have done today:  let the dog out, watch hunting shows, let the dog out, watch fishing shows, make beaded jewelry, let the dog out, watch movies, torture play with the cat, vacuum a section of the rug in the dining room(not as a result of playing with the cat, f.y.i.), let the dog out, do 3 loads of laundry, make soup, put the dog out, bake bread (bread machine–yay!), bake a cake, bring the dog back in, feed the dog, wash dishes, let the dog out…I think that about sums it up.

Oh, one more thing:  I cleaned out my Yahoo inbox.  That may not seem like a big deal, but if you haven’t cleaned out your inbox in, say, oh, I don’t know, years, there can be as many as 5000 emails, 27oo of which are unread.  I know this from personal experience.  It takes a couple hours to clean it all out down to only 360 emails, zero unread, especially when you are jumping up and down to let the dog out, for instance.

Most of the emails were easy to delete, but there were a few in there that I needed to open up and look at.  Some were recipes, family photos, tax filing receipts, etc..  There were also many emails going back to just before my Dad was diagnosed with cancer all the way through to after his death, that I put in a folder labeled “Dad”.  Going through those was cathartic in its own way.   Hence the chocolate cake.  It also taught me something.  I seriously need to stop subscribing to all those informational websites!  There truly is something known as “T.M.I.” and most of it is now in my trash folder!  (Don’t let that stop you from subscribing to my blog, though. )

So, when all is said and done, in spite of us spending our day in our po-jammies, it was fairly productive, at least for me;  I got rid of the crud in my inbox.  Now, we just need to get rid of “The Crud”…and take showers…etc…..

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Animals, Family, Health, house & home, Humor, Hygiene, Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

