Veterans Day

I am a nostalgic person and love classic (a.k.a. old) things.  Well…depending on what it is, of course.  Old books, yes.  Old furniture or cars and trucks, yes.  Old movies, yes (watched one from 1917, just last night!)  Old people, mostly yes.  Old food, not so much. 

When I was a kid, we had a set of  Collier’s Junior Classics, ten encyclopedia-style books filled with stories for “young folks”.  I loved to read, and had spent countless hours reading the hundreds of stories between the covers of these books.  So, a few years back, when I found a set at a yard sale, I promptly bought it.  Some of it was for my kids, but I think most of it was pure, selfish nostalgia.  They enjoyed them, though, and my daughter will occasionally still read them, especially one of her favorites from 1948 called “Soap, Soap, Soap”.  I often read that to her when she was little really little.  (There, that sounds better.  Now I can still stay in denial that she’s growing up and is almost as tall as me.  Not that great of a feat, really, but still….)

The “Harvest of Holidays” volume was another one that I would read from a good bit.  I found that certain holidays, especially Memorial and Veterans Days, seemed to be losing their importance. I wanted to take my children back in time, so to speak, to when patriotism, respect, and honor were far more prevalent in our society.  Back to the days when few Americans took their freedom for granted, as so many seem to do now.  Hopefully, that is changing.

So, here are a few excerpts from that volume:

“Veteran’s Day, November 11

On November 11, 1918, an armistice was signed that freed the world from  the horrors of its first World War.  That day was kept as a reminder that such a war must never come again.

But it did–more terribly than before.  It was followed by “police actions” and small wars.  The United States in 1954 made November 11 a day for honoring the dead and living of all our wars.  On this day, previously known as Armistice Day, we pay tribute to the men and women who, in Woodrow Wilson’s phrase, have fought ‘to make the world safe for democracy.'”

Then there’s the famous poem written in 1915 by Canadian John McCrae:

(It doesn’t look like this in the book, but I thought this photo was a nicer presentation.  If you click on the photo, it will magically get big enough to read.)

Living next to an Army base, the military presence here is very high, and the honor and respect given to our soldiers runs rampant in our little city, as well it should everywhere.  We will be going to the parade, today–in fact, my son is marching as part of the JROTC and I’m quite pleased with that.  Not so pleased that they had to be ordered to march, because not enough kids volunteered; how shameful.  I was pleased that my son was one of the few that did volunteer.  I guess we’re doing something right, even if it is reading stories from old books.

So, if you haven’t already done so, get out, go to a parade or ceremony to honor our veterans.  And when you see a soldier, thank him or her for their service to our country.  And pray for them and their families.  May God bless and protect them….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in America, Country, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

