Thanksgiving eve.

Last-minute Christmas shopping is notorious, but what about last-minute Thanksgiving shopping?  This afternoon, I went to Wally World to purchase a few items that I needed for the mashed potatoes and cranberry pie that I’m making for Thanksgiving dinner.  On my list were two main ingredients, potatoes and cranberries, and one minor, but still important ingredient, pecans.  Luckily for me, there were puh-lenty of potatoes.  Unfortunately, there was not one whole fresh or frozen cranberry or pecan to be found.  As my Southern man found out on his way home from work, there wasn’t a cranberry left in the entire city and the very last 4 bags of pecans were being carried off by another customer!  (The lady that had them was gracious enough to share with my Southern man, so he brought a $9 bag of pecans home.)

So, all this led to a quick menu change from Nantucket Cranberry Pie to pumpkin pie.  I love pumpkin pie, but it’s so…typical.  So, after making 10 pounds of mashed potatoes, I quickly searched on the internet and found this:  Walnut Crunch Pumpkin Pie.  Now, that looks like a nice twist on an old favorite, doesn’t it?  I’m getting up early to give it a go.  I’ll try to get a bite to let you know how it tastes, but, since we are going to our church for a pot-luck-style Thanksgiving dinner with about 130 other folks, there is no guarantee I’ll get a crumb of it.  Which is just fine.  If it’s gone, that means it’s good, right?

I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving, wherever you are and whoever you are with.  God is good and His blessing abound.  May you see them in your life through all circumstances….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in God, Holidays, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

