Arachnophobi…AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Have you seen this new commercial?

I can completely identify with that poor woman!  Put me in a room full of snakes, I’m fine…well, theoretically.  But mention that you might have seen one spider in my bedroom, and I’m not sleeping peacefully that night.  Or at all.

It all started when I was a little girl, barely able to talk.  I was in my backyard, it was a warm, sunny day, I had on a white top and I looked to my left to my neighbor’s yard with the white picket fence.  Out of the corner of my eye, I spied something on my shoulder.  I looked more closely only to see a brown, hairy spider casually hitching a ride on my shirt.  I froze in place and SCREAMED bloody murder.  My poor Mom!  She came flying out of the house, brushed the spider off and picked hysterical me up and…I don’t remember anything else.  Except for pretty much every spider encounter I’ve had in my life since that moment.  Yes, I think you can safely say I have arachnophobia.  How embarrassing.

Think about it.  If it’s a poisonous spider, that’s one thing to be afraid.  But to be afraid of all spiders (unless they are nearly microscopic and/or jumping spiders–microscopic jumping spiders) is embarrassing!  Think of how small a spider is compared to the average human.  Or even someone smaller than the average human, like me.  Still quite a difference in size, yet, spiders are one of our most common fears.  (By the way, you’ll notice I’m not posting any pictures of spiders.  And I won’t.  Just looking at a picture can make me cringe.  I’m sure you understand.)

Now that I think of it, there is one other spider I don’t mind: Charlotte.  Okay, and some of her babies.  But that’s it!  If all spiders looked like this

then I wouldn’t turn into an irrational hysteric at the sight of one crawling on my person.  Aaahhh…just the thought…chills!

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arachnophobi…AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

  1. garden2day says:

    I had a friend whose mom would try to frighten her by telling her she was going to put spiders on her. I hated spiders before that but to hear her say that just wrecked my world! Just think about my friend. She was petrified. I don’t blame you one bit to be scared of the things!!!!

    Like

  2. rebelwife says:

    Oh, that’s so mean!

    Like

Leave a Reply

