When lightning flashes too close, bolt!

As many of you may know, we are in an extreme drought situation down here in Alabama, to the point that all outdoor fires are banned throughout the state, with severe consequences if you decide to light one.  On Facebook I’ve mentioned about how it’s SO dry that the cows are probably going to start producing powdered milk, and that I might end up growing roasted peppers and sun-dried tomatoes.  The other week, my rosebush had a dried flower arrangement on the plant.  It was just way too hot and dry for those delicate rose petals.  I was going to take a picture, but they fell off before I had the chance.

It really is a serious situation since it is affecting the animals and several crops and, therefore, the livelihoods of many folks down here, as well.  We need rain!  You can sense the frustration of the meteorologists, especially when one of them says, “… and if you happen to live directly under one of these pop-up thunderstorms where it pours for ten minutes and you get 3/4 of an inch of rain, well, good for you!”  My Southern Man and I just looked at each other and laughed when we heard that.  No sarcasm there.  Poor guy probably has a very loud, crunchy lawn–like us!

Anyways, tonight my Southern Man and I took a quick trip to Winn Dixie to grab a couple groceries, as well as a moment or two of uninterrupted conversation.  Those pop-up showers had been happening in surrounding areas and the sky was looking a bit threatening, with a drop or two of rain spattering the windshield.  So, we pulled into the Winn Dixie parking lot, parked and got out.  By now, it was actually raining.  As we walked to the store entrance, my Southern Man commented that he didn’t even have his hat, but that was okay, and I said how the rain felt good and wasn’t really even that cold, which he disagreed with, saying, yes, it was cold when suddenly….

The whole sky lit up with a huge flash of lightning which was immediately followed by the deafening crashing of thunder.  This of course meant the lightning was extreeeeeeeemely close.  Well, I immediately forgot about my Southern Man and everything else as pure instinct and terror took over. 

I bolted to the store entrance without any thought of anything except getting into the safety of the store.  As I walked in through the door, the staff was all staring outside at the parking lot.  A few of them glanced at me as I walked in, with grins on their faces.    My Southern Man caught up with me inside the store.  He later said that he wasn’t going to run, but when I took off, he figured, “Okay.” and followed suit.  We were both laughing by now and so were a few of the staff members.  “Did you see that?!”  I asked them.  We continued walking, everyone continued laughing and by now, I was feeling a bit sheepish.  I’m sure the look on my face, if anyone had seen it, was priceless:  one of sheer terror!  Definitely an AFV moment!  Have I mentioned how much I just love thunderstorms?  From a safe distance?  As in verrry far away or maybe even on television.  Yeah….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Animals, Humor, Life, Nature, Weather and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When lightning flashes too close, bolt!

  1. garden2day says:

    We had a thunderstorm again last night where I could hear the rain but it wasn’t hitting the ground. On the south side of town, they got flooding rains. You never know in the summer. It is either feast or famine. We are the latter. Even the leaves on the trees are falling like it is Autumn. Drought index still has us in the worst category and the area is growing. Stay safe and I hope you get real rain soon!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

