Insomni-haikus

Remember learning about the Japanese form of poetry called Haiku?  You know, it’s the one with a syllabic pattern of 5-7-5?  We all probably had to compose our own Haiku poems at some point in our education.  It doesn’t need to rhyme (thankfully!) and is supposed to paint a picture of something in someone’s mind when they read it. 

The first great poet of Haiku, Basho Matsuo wrote:

An old silent pond…

A frog jumps into the pond,

splash! Silence again.

 

Now that is obviously the English translation for all you wiseguys.

Then there is the “Charles Dickens of Japan”: Natsume Soseki.  He wrote:

Over the wintry

forest, winds howl in  rage

 with no leaves to blow.

 

Hmmm…sounds like he may have visited New England in the winter.  Notice that Haiku is usually nature-related.  Usually.

So, why this sudden foray into Japanese poetry?  Well, last night…let me back up.  I am an insomniac; always have been, probably always will be.  So, last night, I couldn’t get to sleep at all.  No.  NOO!  Time for a musical interlude:

(Wow, remember vinyl records? 45’s?  They sound so good!)

And now back to my personal problems:  since we I retrieved my chiming clock from up in New Hampshire, I can lie awake in bed and hear, with growing frustration, the passing of each hour.  So, as the clock announced that it was 1:00 a.m. and I was apparently wired, I starting making up Haikus.  Actually, first I racked my brain trying to remember what, if anything, I may have ingested that would’ve caused me to be so wired and came up with… absolutely NUTHIN’!  As my brain was spinning its wheels, I noticed my left-side-sleeping Southern man (who, like most men I know, seemingly does NOT have any problems with insomnia) kept kicking out his leg left leg.  So, I paid attention.  Sure enough, every 15 or 20 seconds for about 15 or 20 minutes, there it went, a nice, sliding, slo-mo kick.  Fortunately, it was aimed away from me.

So, I began to compose: 

Southern man’s leg kicks.

I have restless brain sydrome.

At least he can sleep!

 

Then, after he rolled over and stopped his restless leg syndrome impression, I came up with this:

I cannot sleep yet.

The chimes announce two o’clock!

Tuesday will be tough.

At that point, I debated just getting up, turning on the computer and blogging.  (I waited up late to do it tonight, instead!)  Finally, I fell asleep for a lovely 3 1/2 hours before it was time to see the kids off to their first day back at school.  Maybe that’s why I couldn’t sleep–I was excited about school!  Hey, parents get excited, too, you know!

And so, I leave you with this:

Wednesday will be rough

if I don’t go to bed now.

Good night, sweet dreams y’all!

 

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

