The Case of the Missing Blackberry “Spreadable Fruit”

Remember this:

Last night, my daughter made a peanut butter and jelly “spreadable fruit” sandwich for today’s school lunch.  This morning, my son went to do the same and couldn’t find the jelly.  (I’m sticking with “jelly” because it’s shorter to type and I always rooted for the Southern man in the video.)  After questioning my daughter, who first insisted she had put it back in the fridge, then wasn’t so sure, we looked in the following places:  refridgerator, freezer, bread box, cupboards, trash (thinking maybe my Southern man finished it and threw away the empty bottle), fridge and freezer, again, and more cupboards.

No success.  The bottle of jelly had apparently disappeared.  In the door of the fridge, I found an unlabeled bottle of home-made “something” jelly that had been given to us.  I think it’s plum.  Since there was no bad odor or mold and it tasted just fine, if not quite exactly identifiable, my son continued with his sandwich-making and off to school they went.

After they left, I went to the spice drawer to grab the cinnamon to add a little zip to my coffee.  Guess what I found?  Yes, the missing Blackberry Spreadable Fruit.  I’m going to blame my daughter’s brain lapse on hormones.  Yes, she’s joined the ranks of us women who, when our hormones go nuts either from our cycle or pregnancy, do strange things that we forget.  Been there, done that.  Welcome to our club, sweetie!  It only gets more entertaining from here.  If you’re blessed enough to marry a man like your Daddy, he’ll have “sympathy episodes” along with you, while you’re pregnant, so you have some ammo to shoot back at him when he teases you about putting the half-and-half in the cupboard instead of the fridge.  Although, now that I think of it, I may also have done that when I wasn’t pregnant…still must’ve been hormones.   That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Family, Food & Beverage, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Case of the Missing Blackberry “Spreadable Fruit”

  1. garden2day says:

    I love that commercial! I think we have all had those moments that we would rather forget…

    Like

Leave a Reply

