Bad Movies I Like Anyways

You know the kind of movies I’m talking about:  the critics give them two thumbs down, people say they should’ve just waited ’til it came out on DVD and, lo and behold, it shows up on DVD in record time.  I don’t care, though, I still like some of them.

This one is “Ghost Rider” with Nicholas Cage.  And Sam Elliot. 🙂  Doesn’t his voice just give you shivers up your spine?  Okay, maybe not if you’re a guy or under age 25, but there’s just SOMEthing about Sam Elliot.  That mischievous twinkle in his eye, that deep voice, that cowboy hat, his horse.  I think I like this movie more because of Mr. Elliot than Mr. Cage.  Add to it the fiery horse, the fiery motorcycle, the whip, and lots of flames.  Plus a kinda sorta western-sounding theme song.  I don’t care what the critics say.  I like it!

Next is “The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen”.  Another flop that I love to watch every chance I get.  It’s got Sean Connery (who doesn’t like Mr. Connery), Peta Wilson (remember “La Femme Nikita”? Not the most recent one; this one was in the late 90’s to 2001) and many other actors for all the different characters.  The Invisible Man has the best sense of humor, but  I think Peta’s character is my favorite.  I’ve always had a thing for vampires and such.  Not an unhealthy thing, just a pure entertainment thing.

Which brings me to all the horrible-but-I-still-like-them vampire movies I’ve seen, some of which also have werewolves, but I honestly can’t remember the names of them all.  Let’s see…”Van Helsing” with Hugh Jackman.  Like.

On a side-note, how about that movie preview voice guy?  I didn’t realize he’d passed away a few years ago.  Here’s his story:

I’m not sure who does the movie voice now, but this guy would be passable:

Actually, he sounds like he could do the whole movie, not just the trailer!

Back to bad movies.  How about “Highlander”?  Its reviews weren’t as bad as these other movies, and it was good enough to have a TV series, but we were told by one of our friends that it was horrible.  We own it.  I guess it’s one of those “you either love it or hate it” things–a “cult movie”?

Even my Mom liked the series.  Duncan MacCleod…*sigh*….

So, that’s just a few of the bad movies I like anyways.  Of course, what do you expect from someone whose formative years included having this on every Saturday:

Makes you appreciate the special effects we have now versus then, doesn’t it?

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad Movies I Like Anyways

  1. garden2day says:

    I know what you mean but I don’t let the critics influence me. I have been head over hills for Sam Elliott since Lifeguard and Nicholas Cage in Valley Girl…Sam wins every time but Sean Connery has to be right there, too.

    Like

    • rebelwife says:

      Yes, Sam Elliot and Sean Connery both have that devilish twinkle in their eyes. We only let the critics influence us in that, when they hate a movie, we find that we usually like it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

