Parenting Milestones

When I punched “milestones and parents” into my Google searchbar, the results were almost entirely about the milestones of the children.  Not the angle I was looking for.  So, I punched in “milestones of parenting” and found this:  Parenting Milestones Calculator

I entered our ages for when we had our son and got this:  Our results

Why am I telling you all this?  Well, just a few months back, this was our son:

Then, a few days ago:

and finally, this very morning:

A few of the many thoughts that went through my mind as I watched my little man drive away:  “Who IS that?”  “Tell me again, WHEN did we get HERE?”  “This cement is really cold on my bare feet….” “I hope none of the neighbors see me in my clown pants!”  (If you could see my pajama pants, you’d understand.  Hold on–I’ll take a picture:  My mom gave them to me.  They have a warm, cozy, fuzzy top that I love in that lovely lime-green color that is…ummm…very bright?  Imagine my surprise when I saw that my sister had the same exact set.  We love our Mom.)

Anyways, that calculator works.  I tried not to read too far ahead, but I couldn’t help myself.  Not sure how I feel about the fact that I could be a great-grandmother in my seventies…why, that’s probably just in a few weeks, isn’t it?  My, how time flies…why can’t it fly like the American Woodcock? It’s the slowest flying bird in the world.  No-ooo, time has to fly like a White-throated Needletail–straight towards old age!  Oh, well.  As long as our son doesn’t drive like the White-throated Needletail….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Cars & Trucks, Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Parenting Milestones

  1. garden2day says:

    I love your post! Boy, do they grow up fast. It hasn’t slowed down for us yet. I really miss their younger years!

    Like

  2. That’s how I feel about how quick my kids are growing. My oldest is only 8. I do not look forward to seeing her in 8 years driving a car.

    Like

  3. rebelwife says:

    They sure do grow up fast–we were warned! As of this Monday, he began driving his sister to school in the mornings and is she thrilled to not have to ride the bus (gives her 20 extra minutes at home). I mentioned to my Southern Man that it will probably be good for the two of them to have this new experience. Maybe it will lead to a more respectful, peaceful relationship as they now have a totally different dynamic in their sibling relationship…time will tell.

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

