Chipmunk in Disguise?

Our older dog, Nala, has definitely spoiled us with her easy train-ability and  obedience.  She’s such a good dog and so very intelligent.  Our puppy Skye, on the other hand, while just as smart as Nala, has a stubborn streak and quite the mind of her own.

Tonight, my Southern Man let our dogs outside one more time before we retired for the evening.   We typically say, “Let’s go out.” and that’s all it takes for them to get up.  Well, Nala, at least.  Skye, like a typical teenager, has to be prodded a bit and then will often get “side-tracked” on her way to the door.  I think she needs Ritalin.  So Nala, who had been sleeping in her bed on the living room floor, dutifully got up and went a few rooms over to the door to go outside, followed by my Southern Man, after he had opened Skye’s crate door for her to follow…which she didn’t.  I know this because I heard him call her name, then repeat it in a hushed, but very exasperated tone.  It reminded me of this–click on the Chipmunks picture and then hit play:

I couldn’t help but laugh and share with my Southern Man the thought that had popped into my head when I heard him yelling for her:  we gave her the wrong name.  Should’ve called her Alvin…it definitely fits at times!  Of course, if we did that, then we’d also have to rename Nala.  I think Simon would fit her best.  Minus the glasses, perhaps….

I just noticed how much Skye looks like she’s had a LOT of caffeine or something, in this picture.  Look at those eyes!

Speaking of which, check this out:

She kind of looks like the Espresso owl, doesn’t she?  Meanwhile, I’m feeling like the half-caf..  Hopefully, in a little while, I’ll look like the decaf.!   Good night!

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in America, Animals, Family, house & home, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chipmunk in Disguise?

  1. garden2day says:

    Don’t you love it? Pets will be pets. I agree with the espresso one. Funny, I was looking through our old albums this week and found the two Chipmunk ones. You know, I think I had a roommate one time who looked a lot like that!

    Like

  2. rebelwife says:

    Ha! That’s funny about the Chipmunk look-alike. My Mom still has the Christmas albums from when we were kids–always loved them!

    Skye’s a sweet pup, just needs a bit more training. Hard to have such an energetic dog in a small yard. I’m training her to the leash so we can walk or jog with her. She’s a great watchdog, too–TOO good, sometimes–with quite a big-dog bark!

    Hope you’re having a great week! Thanks for checking in! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

