Breaking an old habit is hard. Period.

What habit would that be you ask? Using two spaces between sentences, instead of one. In my high school typing class (yes, we had typewriters, not computers, and they were electric…I think…YES, they were!), we were taught to put two spaces after the end of each sentence before starting the next one. This is something I’ve been doing for…a LONG time. So, I am making a conscious effort to reduce my spaciness. Spacing. Whatever, it’s late.  Oops, I did it again. (Notice the two spaces before between the “late.  Oops.”) What I will NOT do, is go back and correct all my wasted spaces on past blog posts. So, if it bothers you, too bad. If you didn’t notice, good. If this whole one-space thing is new to you, also, very good. It’s nice to not be the very last person on earth to catch up on things. 🙂 If you want to read about it, click here. Here. Nope–sorry, here. (giggle) Time for me to hit the hay! Good-night!Image

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Language, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breaking an old habit is hard. Period.

  1. garden2day says:

    The two-space method is what I learned, too, and it was hard for me to break the habit. I learned on the real antiquated machine that took at least twice as much energy plus manually throwing back the carriage. I personally like the spaces but guess I have adjusted. It’s hard to break habits especially when they are not bad ones to begin with :).

    Like

    • rebelwife says:

      Yes, I remember those old typewriters–I think my Mom may have had one. I’d like to find one somewhere, cheap, to buy! After reading about why the 2-space rule was put in place, I wonder exactly how old my typing teacher REALLY was…must’ve been truly ancient!

      Like

  2. theuglymoose says:

    This is new to me. I have the same habits I refuse to give up, like using bad grammar.

    Like

  3. rebelwife says:

    Hey, whatever works for you, right? My other problem is too many commas. Rather than follow rules that I learned eons ago, I use them when I think there should be pause in a sentence, which is probably way too often. Come to think of it, I believe I had the too-many-commas problem in high school and college. Oh, well.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

