Update on That Which Bit

As you may know, I was bitten by what I thought might have been a spider on Thursday evening. Well, by Sunday, it was red, itchy and spreading across the top of my foot, so I went to a clinic. It turns out that whatever bit me was probably not poisonous (or else my foot would have looked REALLY bad), but I was having an allergic reaction. Solution? Shots, benadryl and antibiotics.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t remember the last time I had a tetanus shot. Well, next time I’m asked that, I’ll remember: it was the year 2012. Of course, if the world ends in December, then it’ll be moot, I guess.

After 3 hours, my Southern Man and I headed home. He was very sweet to come with me. I’m an independent, capable woman, but I just didn’t want to spend our Sunday sitting by myself in an emergency care waiting room–and he didn’t want me to, either. Isn’t that nice? 🙂

Today, my bite site looks SO much better. I guess the shots and benadryl really did the trick. A word of advice: when you have to get 2 shots, one in the arm and the other in the hip/derriere area, do NOT get them on opposite sides. I couldn’t sleep on my left side because my arm was really sore. I couldn’t sleep on my right side because my hip was sore. Fortunately, I drank a cup of Green Mountain coffee at 8:00 p.m., so sleep was elusive anyways. And with that, I’m off to take a nap…on my back.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Food & Beverage, Health, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update on That Which Bit

  1. garden2day says:

    I’m so glad you are doing better. I cut myself the other day and tried to remember my last tetanus shot–about 15 years ago I think? Now, I have to remember 2012, too. It was so nice that your hubby went with you. It is those simple little things that mean so much and that I really miss. Take care and enjoy your sleep.

    Like

  2. rebelwife says:

    True! I told him I felt selfish asking him to come with me and waste his Sunday afternoon, but he told me he didn’t mind, didn’t want me to sit there alone and that he’d want me to do the same for him. Meanwhile, that steroid shot really is sore!

    Like

  3. garden2day says:

    That is so sweet. I’m now facing brain surgery because of my recent problems and I am not totally sure my husband will show up. Treasure what you have because it can so easily slip away but you know that already. Hope everything feels better soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

