Palm Sunday

Today is Palm Sunday which, for me, brings back some fond memories of when I was a child and we still attended the Armenian Apostolic Church in Lawrence, MA.. It seems trivial in relation to the importance and meaning of Palm Sunday, but one of the things l liked the most about it was when the church handed everyone palm fronds as they left the sanctuary. We would take the palms and fashion crosses out of them, then let them dry. Image

One year I made a particularly good one–no breakage, it held together well, well-proportioned and it actually lasted for several years. I do miss those days. Granted, I live in lower Alabama and was just in Florida, briefly, yesterday. In other words, there are palm trees everywhere. I suppose if I really wanted, I could get myself some palm fronds. But…it just wouldn’t be the same…the meaning and importance of Palm Sunday, however, is.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in God, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Palm Sunday

  1. Tina says:

    I just wandered over here to see you because you said you missed lilacs on Window on the Prairie’s blog. I miss them terribly after moving from Montana to the deserts of Nevada. But I do not miss the snow. I have enjoyed your blog and laughed at the pictures of your son growing up before my eyes. My sons did that too! Now I am in my fifties and I am a Great-gramma. One final thing…yes your dog does look like it has been doing double shots of expresso!

    Like

  2. rebelwife says:

    Thanks for reading my blog, Tina! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I know every part of our country has its own beauty, but, yes, I sure do miss where I grew up. The kids sure do grow up fast! Can’t say we weren’t warned about that, though. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

