Eggs Dyed With Onion Skins

As part of my Armenian heritage, we always had eggs dyed with onion skins. It was the only way my grandmother ever dyed them. Every Easter has passed by with me dyeing eggs with the bright colors of food coloring because I always forget to save my onion skins. This year was no exception, but I managed to snag a whole bunch of them at Wally World. Here’s a note I wrote on FB:

“Once again, I forgot to save onion skins to dye our eggs for Easter.  Rather than admit defeat and go with rainbow colors, I cleaned out the loose onion skins in the onion bins at Wally World, knowing full well that I’d have some splainin’ to do at the checkout lane.  Sure enough, when I told the lady I had a bag full of just loose onion skins to dye eggs for Easter, she’d never heard of such a thing and even turned to a friend and asked, “You ever heard of THAT?”  She’d also never heard of Armenians, so I asked if she’d ever seen “My Big Fat Greek Wedding”.  When she said yes, I told her we were sort of like that, just not quite as crazy.  (Some of you may beg to differ.)  She then said she didn’t know what she should do, if she should charge for the skins.  I told her probably not, if anything, I should get paid for cleaning out the bins. Ha ha!  Thankfully, she laughed, too–and agreed, although I didn’t get paid…oh well.

So, a couple more trips to the store and I should have plenty of skins to boil a whole bunch of eggs for our annual egg fights.  (It’s probably not what you’re thinking and I already wrote of it in a previous note.)  Of course, it won’t be quite the same without the rest of the clan….”

Now that your interest is piqued by what “our annual egg fights” could possibly mean, let me continue on with my story. (I’ll fill you in on that topic tomorrow with that “previous note”.)

I may have gone a little overboard, but I figured it was better to have too many onion skins than too little:

Since I’ve never actually done this before, I did some research and then came up with my own method. First, I got yellow and red skins (just the outer parts). Different skins give different colors. Then I soaked them in water for a few hours–probably not necessary to do it for as long as I did, but I had things to do, so I just let ’em sit:

Later, after I’d gone and bought more white eggs (they hold color better than brown eggs, so I read), I put one dozen in the pot with the skins,

added a few tablespoons of vinegar (not all recipes call for that, so next year I’m going to try it without the vinegar), mixed it up gently until the eggs were hidden amongst the skins (can you see them?),

then turned the heat up. After the water was boiling, I turned it off and removed the pot from the heat and let it sit for about 20 minutes. Then I removed the eggs, let them cool in the fridge, oiled them with a little olive oil to make ’em even more purty, and placed them on my daughter’s bunny plate that her Grandma gave her:

Cute bunny, huh? Here’s a close up:

Hmmm, if eggs had butts, that bunny’d be kissing it, I think. Tomorrow we will take the eggs with us to our friends’ house after church and, after a nice Easter lunch, we will commence with the egg fights which, I’m sure, will be a completely new experience for them. May the best egg win! Then, may we all like eating egg salad for the rest of the week! Yummy!

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in America, Family, Food & Beverage, Holidays, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

