It’s a Ploy!

Yesterday, as we were driving up to visit some friends in the Birmingham area of the state, I had an epiphany! I looked at my Southern Man (quick glances, as I was driving when the epiphany hit me) and said, with a grin, “You know what? I just realized something. You planned this all along, didn’t you?!”

He looked at me, quizzically.

“I told you I’d never move back to Alabama, so you moved us to the flattest, hottest part of the state, so now I really wish we lived back in the Birmingham area!”

He shook his head in denial, with a twinkle in his eye. “Nooooo.”

“Suuure.” I said.

“Really, I didn’t plan this.” he insisted with a grin on his face.

“Well, then,” I said, “God must be on your side!”

He just kept grinning and nodded in agreement. So, that’s how it is….

When I lived in Alabama the first time and met my Southern Man, as things got serious, I told him I had no intention of staying in the South. (I really missed my family and New England.) So, he moved with me to New England. Now, all these years later, living even further south than we did before, the Birmingham area looks real good! It’s actually got…hills!  Although the flora is different, the terrain is more like what I’m used to in New England, as is civilization, in general. Nothing against the area I live in now, but I much prefer northern Alabama and would love to move back here. The fact that all of my Southern Man’s side of the family and our friends live in this area, is another reason. We sure miss them! It’s good to visit. Since moving back to New England probably won’t ever happen, hopefully, one day, we will be back up in the Birmingham area for good. Wow. I can’t believe I actually said that…. Definitely a ploy, I don’t care what he says….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a Ploy!

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel says:

    Before we moved, my hubbie said, “I’ve been wanting to do this for years. I’ve just been waiting for you to feel the same way.”

    Like

  2. garden2day says:

    I think the northern part of the state is so much better, too. I don’t know how you do it. Sorry, but I bet you are happiest just being together… I see it is 50 degrees in New Hampshire right now…what I would give for 50 degrees in the “heat” of the day!

    Like

    • rebelwife says:

      Well, hopefully, we’ll move back up to this area in a year or few. I saw the NH weather–I have to say, now that it’s June, I’d be ready for 70+ degree weather.

      Like

Leave a Reply

