A Brad Paisley Song Moment

If you know this song’s lyrics, you may guess what I am about to tell you. My Southern Man’s birthday is coming up in a couple of days, but we celebrated it early. His mom always made him what she called a “gooey chocolate cake”, so that was what I did. The problem was, I forgot the “flour” part of the “grease and flour the cake pan”. Results: the cake did not come out in one nice, perfect piece. Instead, it split into a few pieces…then…I dropped it on the counter and it really fell apart!

Well, our daughter thought it was funny and my Southern Man consoled me by telling me how delicious it was and holding me as my eyes teared up. Mind you, I’m not one to cry over things like this, but I wanted it to be perfect (I’m that way about food) and it was definitely NOT perfect.

A few minutes later, my Southern Man told me that his mom probably dropped half the cakes she baked! He also told me that HE was the one who would always grease and flour the cake pans. So, I quickly chalked up the mishap to him not doing his duty and me following his mom’s “tradition”. 😉

While we were eating the delicious gooey/ugly chocolate cake, he told me that the frosting (his mom’s recipe) was just like hers. However, as far as the cake was concerned…he loved it and said it was even better than hers had been. 🙂 That recipe is definitely a keeper and I will share it later. It truly was delicious and would be easy to turn into lemon cake or use all sorts of different toppings/frostings on–or even none at all! The gooey chocolate icing is a family secret, I think, sorry!

I hope you had a wonderful New Year’s Eve and Day! May this upcoming year be full of blessings for you.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
Video | This entry was posted in Family, Food & Beverage, Holidays, house & home, Humor, Life, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Brad Paisley Song Moment

  1. garden2day says:

    I think your hubby is a keeper!!! 😉 Those are the special moments that I would give almost anything for… It does my heart so much good to heart this 😀 ! Take care and have a wonderful 2013!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

