Wow! Already?!

Someone told me to “have a great weekend” and I thought, “Wow! Already?!” These short weeks when the kids are on vacation the earlier part and go back to school for only two days really throw the week off, don’t they? Why bother, really? If you started the week being off for three days, what’s two more?

Anyways, because it’s already the weekend, I thought you might like that cake recipe I told you I baked for my Southern Man. Here it is:

Four Egg Yellow Cake
Original recipe makes 1 -9×13 inch cake

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 3/4 cups milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). GREASE AND FLOUR one 9 x 13 inch pan.
  2. Cream together shortening and sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk. Mix well. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  4. Bake for 45 minutes, or until cake tests done. Cool.
I made this with my old kitchen stand mixer. Except for the mishap due to not flouring the pan after I greased it, it was amazing. This was the first time I used this recipe and I will most definitely use it again. I will also be using lemon extract, instead of vanilla extract, and a lemon icing next time; my daughter and I think it will be scrumptious!

So, give it a try and enjoy! Also, if you want a great source for recipes, one that I use when I’m looking for something different and where I found this recipe, check out AllRecipes.com.

Have a wonderful weekend! Wow! Already! 🙂

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Food & Beverage, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wow! Already?!

  1. garden2day says:

    Thanks for the recipe…maybe I can get around to it soon 😀 . Oh, and I love lemon cake… YUM!

    Like

  2. rebelwife says:

    My husband and kids LOVED the cake. It was light and not too sweet. We are definitely going to try the lemon version and see how it comes out. It would also be a good “poke” cake–remember those? The jello-filled ones?

    Like

Leave a Reply

