How Sweet

Very early this morning, I woke up with a cough. My Southern Man got up out of bed and, a few minutes later, came back to the bedroom and warned me he was going to turn on the light. When I looked up at him through squinted eyes, he was standing by the bed with a jar of local honey in one hand and a teaspoon in the other.

“Here, have a teaspoon of this for your cough,” he said, as he poured the honey into the spoon and fed it to me. Wasn’t that sweet of him? A few minutes later, my cough gone and my Southern Man back in bed, I drifted off to sleep thinking, “Nothing says love like getting up in the wee hours of the morning to give your honey something to stop a cough…or…maybe nothing says shut-up like getting up in the wee hours of the morning to give your honey something to stop a cough…whatever.”

When I later joked with my Southern Man about what my thought had been, his reply was, “I was already awake.” It was love, after all! 🙂

tsp of honeyIf you don’t already know this, honey is good for so many things, including coughs and allergies. However, when you do buy it, buy local. Not only will you be supporting your local beekeeper (or apiarist) and getting a purer product than what you may find in stores, but local honey can also help build up your immunity to the local pollen-producing flora.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Food & Beverage, Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

