Cast Iron Quiche

Yesterday on Facebook, I posted “Tonight’s supper: cast iron quiche. That sounds more manly, doesn’t it?“. This is how it turned out:

Cast Iron Quiche

Cast Iron Quiche

Oh, yes, it was quite delicious! I love using cast iron. We bought this 10″ skillet as part of a relatively inexpensive “made in China” set from a local hardware store a few years ago. Initially, I wasn’t too thrilled with it because of where it was made (I try to avoid China-made products, if I can), that it was unseasoned, and was also very rough compared to the pre-seasoned dutch oven we’d bought from another company that is manufactured here in the USA. However, once it was seasoned and now that it’s been used a good bit, it’s “the best cast iron we’ve got” as my Southern Man has remarked. I have to say, though, that I use my dutch oven a lot more often–the lid is also a skillet.

I wrote a few days back about how I haven’t been sharing recipes very often because I usually just throw stuff together and don’t always keep track of amounts or times. But a friend requested the recipe, so bear with me as I attempt to share my “Cast Iron Quiche” creation. 🙂

I found a new recipe for an easy pie crust that requires no rolling out and it had very good reviews, so I figured I’d give it a shot, especially since rolling pie crusts is not one of my better talents. (I need better rolling implements…or more patience.) The nice thing about quiche is that you can throw just about anything in there for fillings. This time I used onion, celery, ham, and broccoli. In the past, I’ve used mushroom, sausage, spinach, tomato, and so on. Just find whatever you have on hand and put in a combination that you’ll like.

Easy Pie Crust

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp milk

Pre-heat oven to 400°. Combine dry ingredients in pie pan (or skillet, in this case), add oil and milk, stir together with a fork, pat mixture into bottom and sides of pan, prick with a fork. Bake 10 minutes.

Basic Quiche

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup grated cheese
  • 1 cup filling of your choice
  • season to taste

Beat the eggs, add milk. Combine flour and baking powder, add to egg/milk mixture; set aside. Spread filling into partially pre-baked crust (you may brush the crust with egg white to seal it if you like to prevent any potential sogginess, but I skip that part and get no complaints), pour liquid over filling, season, then evenly spread cheese over the top. Bake in oven at 375° for about 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean when inserted slightly off-center of quiche. Let it sit for a little while before cutting.

So this is how I made my Cast Iron Quiche:

Chop up 1/2 of an onion, 1 stalk of celery and saute them until soft in the heated skillet. Use a little oil or bacon grease, add a little butter if you’d like. Remove the skillet from the heat; put the veggies in a bowl. Chop a small stalk of broccoli, steam it in the microwave for 2-3 minutes, add to the onion/celery mix. Chop 3-4 slices of ham (we had Boars Head) and mix that in with the vegetables. Grate cheddar cheese; set aside. (I tend to use a little bit more than just the one cup each of filling and cheese.)

While I took care of the vegetables, the skillet had cooled down enough to make the crust. I used the directions above but combined the dry ingredients in a bowl, which I then dumped into the skillet, added the liquid, mixed it with a fork, spread and pressed it with a metal spoon, pricked it, and put it in the hot oven for 5-10 minutes until it was starting to firm up, but not quite turning brown.

Take the crust out of the oven, pour in your veggie/meat filling, pour the liquid over it, season with salt and pepper (I also used a little thyme in this one), spread the cheddar cheese on top and pop back into the oven, lowered to 375°. Bake until it’s done (a knife inserted just off-center comes out clean) about 35 minutes.

I set it on the stove for a little while, then we served it up. You can serve it with a salad on the side…or not. 🙂 This will easily feed a family of four. With our son off at college, it fed the three of us supper, plus my Southern Man and daughter each took a slice for today’s lunch.

Enjoy!

Cast Iron Quiche

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Food & Beverage, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cast Iron Quiche

  1. That looks delish! I am going to have to try this recipe….SOON! You are killing my diet goals, however.

    I love cooking with cast iron as well. I had gotten away from it but am coming back. I can admit that I was lured into the lighter-side of cooking rather than the muscle-building lifting of iron in the kitchen. 😉 I recently purchased a carbonized steel skillet which is a little bit lighter than cast iron, so better for cooking on a glass top stove. I prepped it for first use and….no sticking! Love it! My new favorite piece of cookware. Now, if I could only afford to throw out all my so-called non-stick cookware and replace it all with carbonized steel and cast iron, I would be a very happy cook.

    Like

    • rebelwife says:

      Carbonized steel skillet–sounds interesting! Let me know how the quiche comes out–I have yet to have any feedback, but there have been a ton of hits on this post. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  2. deb says:

    I’d like to try this tonite. I have a bag of broc-cauli – do you recommend I steam these or can I add them raw?

    Like

  3. deb says:

    I made the quiche last Friday night for dinner. It came out fantastic! It looked just like the picture. I used whole wheat flour and coconut oil. For the filling I had a left over boneless chicken breast and broccoli/cauliflower(steamed in microwave). Next time the only thing I would do differently is maybe set the oven to 400 instead of 425 for 15 and 375 for 30. I got to impatient in my hot kitchen waiting to change the temp! I did bake the crust as suggested though. Good tip – the crust wasn’t soggy at all! Thanks much!

    Like

    • rebelwife says:

      So glad you liked it and thank you for the feedback! Yes, I think I have changed the temperature, as well and should update it. Different recipes call for different things, but I like simple best! I’ve started using coconut oil just recently, so I’ll have to give that a try. I was actually thinking I might make a broccoli-onion-ham quiche, tonight. 🙂 Thanks, again, for the feedback–so glad you enjoyed it! Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

