A lighter lunch

Sometimes, I get sick of eating. Some people may think that’s crazy, but that’s how I am. Eating can sometimes seem like a necessary chore. I also get tired of meat. I’m not one to eat meat at every meal or even every day. My Southern Man, however, leans more towards being a carnivore and usually grumbles a bit if we don’t have a supper containing meat.

Today, being President’s Day, my daughter is home from school. She, like me, doesn’t mind the occasional lack of a fleshy meal, so today was a good day to have a vegetarian lunch. I happened to have chick peas (garbanzo beans) and some pearl couscous (Israeli couscous), so I decided to make a meal out of them. I’ve never used the pearl couscous, before, but I lucked out this past week and found 2 bags of that and 2  bags of tapioca for half-price at this awesome health food store a few towns away.

SO…no fancy recipe format here; just a jumbled set of directions…kind of like how I usually cook. 🙂 Per the package instructions, I brought 1 1/4 cups of water to a boil, added a dash of salt, and 1 cup of the pearl couscous, brought it back to a boil, then lowered it to a simmer for about 10 minutes. When it was done, I added to it 1 can of drained chick peas. Now this is where all measurements get thrown out the window. I added maybe a couple tablespoons of butter and a teaspoon or so of olive oil. Depending on your preference, you could probably use different amounts or omit one or the other or both. I also added a heaping spoonful of plain yogurt, then the following spices and herbs: salt, onion powder, garlic powder, all-spice, paprika, dried basil, and dried mint. Start off with small amounts, 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon, and adjust to your taste. Put it back on the stove and warm it through, then eat it. Yum! You could probably serve this as a side or with vegetables, but it was sufficient for us as a fast, simple lunch with both protein and carbohydrates. Also, since there was some left, my daughter will be taking it to school for her lunch, tomorrow, and we both agreed that it will probably taste just as good, unheated.

So if you’re looking for something fast, simple, a little different, and still nutritious, give this a try. Enjoy!

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Food & Beverage, Health, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

