Salad and Vinaigrette Recipe

As promised, here are the recipes for the salad I found and started making this past summer. It’s quick and simple, very delicious and, when you tell people what is in the vinaigrette, they are usually quite surprised.

Mixed Greens with Goat Cheese, Cranberries, and Walnuts

  • 16 cups mixed greens
  • 1 cup sweetened dried cranberries
  • 1 cup toasted walnut halves
  • Lemon-Maple Vinaigrette
  • 1 (11-ounce) package goat cheese, crumbled

Combine greens, cranberries, and walnuts in a large bowl. Just before serving, toss with 2/3 cup Lemon-Maple Vinaigrette, and top with goat cheese.

Now I did things a little differently with the salad. I mixed in the goat cheese with the cranberries and walnuts and tossed it all together. I did not put the vinaigrette on until just before serving. I made it this last time with baby spinach, rather than mixed greens, and have also used feta, rather than goat cheese. I prefer the baby spinach and the goat cheese, personally. How about that Lemon-Maple Vinaigrette?

Lemon-Maple Vinaigrette

  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients, stirring well with a whisk. Cover and chill until ready to serve.

I mix whisk together everything but the olive oil. I have used pink Himalayan salt, organic bottled lemon juice, and regular ground black pepper, when I didn’t have kosher salt, fresh lemons, or fresh ground black pepper. I did not use fake maple syrup. That is crossing the line. 😉 After I combine and whisk all those ingredients together, then I add in the olive oil and give it a good shaking. Shake it before you pour it on the salad.

So there it is! I hope you enjoy it as much as everyone else has, so far.

mixed-greens-cl-1559151-x

Photo courtesy of the interweb.

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

