Newton

When you read the name “Newton”, you probably think of Sir Isaac Newton and the laws of physics he formulated that we have all learned either in school, perhaps unwillingly, or in life, unknowingly. My favorite demonstration of his 3rd law is below:

garfield-cartoon

Garfield was one of my favorite cartoon characters; I have a stuffed Garfield that I bought from a little shop in western Massachusetts back in the late 1980s, when I was in college. I saw him and thought it was hilarious. If you know Garfield, you’ll understand the pasta bowl.

FullSizeRender (4)

He’s in pretty good shape for an old tomcat! My other favorite cartoons, Looney Tunes and Calvin and Hobbes, also had many demonstrations of the laws of physics, as well as of breaking of the laws of physics. Anyway, the Newton I am about to discuss is not Sir Isaac.

SONY DSC

It’s Fig Newtons, one of my favorite cookies since childhood. I loved them so much, that I even gave them up for Lent one year when I was a kid. At the end of Lent and as a reward, I was given a box of them by my Sunday school class teacher. I was so happy!  I brought them home and put them in the kitchen cupboard. However, as it turned out, I did not get even one. Not. One. Nope, I didn’t. You wanna know why? It’s called “older brother”. Yeah. He ate them all. ALL. Jerk. That’s how I felt at the time, anyway. I got over it; it was about 40  years ago, after all.

Since those days, Fig Newtons, which were named after the town of Newton, Massachusetts (click on the Fig Newton box for more info), have dropped the fig and now are just called Newtons, because they added a bunch of different fruit flavors to their line-up. I’m old-school and like the original fig ones, myself. Not that I ever get them, much. Maybe once every few years, when they go on sale and toDAY was that day!

FullSizeRender (5)

As you can see, the packaging has changed quite a bit, including the “easy peel” tab that I didn’t notice until after I’d ripped open the end so I could eat a couple of these cute, little mini-pastries. (Easy-open anything is pretty much wasted on me.)

FullSizeRender (4)

Don’t they look yummy? I love fig filled cookies and pastries. Just figs, in general, I guess. Perhaps it has to do with my Armenian ancestry, since the fig is entwined with our history. Maybe one of these days, I will get my hands on some Alabama-grown figs and be able to make some goodies with them. In the meantime, I will just buy my occasional pastry or box of newtons, knowing that I don’t have to worry about my brother stealing them all since he lives all the way up in New England. 😉

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

