Lemonade…that cool, refreshing drink. Sometimes….

Some of my friends and former neighbors may remember, I know my kids do, when we lived on South Main Street in a little NH town, and I would set them up with a stand so they could sell lemonade on Friday afternoons and evenings to all the passing drivers that were on their way home from work. We had a split beverage cooler that had spouts at the bottom and I would make homemade lemonade (cheating using lemon juice) and also brewed “Southern Peach Iced Tea”. (Remember, this was New Hampshire, so it’s “iced tea”, not “sweet tea”.) Because the beverages were a delicious hit, the kids were cute (of course!), and I set them up on a regular basis, including when we had a yard sale, they actually made some really good money for two little kids, that summer! I had them charge $1 for tea and fifty cents for lemonade, I believe. Granted, I didn’t deduct the cost of everything from their profits, but still, the profits were pretty good. 😉

I was reminded of those times a few days ago, when my daughter and I were on our way back from a really nice afternoon spent at some Alabama shopping outlets with a friend. As I drove around a corner a couple streets away from our house, we noticed about 10 or so little Hispanic children, waving us down. Sure enough, they had a small table set up on the side of the road and were selling lemonade for fifty cents or water for twenty-five. Of course, I had to stop and order two lemonades, and paid a little extra as a tip. Well…you have to give them an “A” for their effort, entrepreneurial spirit–and cuteness. But, boy, that was some of the weakest, lukewarm lemonade I think I’ve ever had. If I personally knew them, I’d show them (or the parent) how it’s properly done. But you know what? Regardless of how, as I said, “somewhat horrible” their product may be, at this stage of the game, when their parents are trying to instill in these young children a good work ethic, in spite of the hot, ninety-degree weather, I will always stop and buy their beverages. How can one not, right? 🙂

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

