Batty things.

Last month, I mentioned that while my daughter had a scholarship interview, I went to a place I like to browse around in: Calhoun Pickers, a warehouse set up with booths for people to sell vintage and antique items, treasures, and junk–basically just lots of STUFF. I can’t help but get all snap-happy with my cellphone, which can annoy my daughter, but she wasn’t with me, so…. đŸ™‚ I have lots of photos on my computer from this and other antique-y places, but for today I will share only two:

Yes, a Bat Signal mug and, in a totally different booth, an old-fashioned phone that happens to be red. You know, like the Bat Phone. It’s not exactly the same, but still. I like old-fashioned phones, preferably even older ones that have the rotary dial. I haven’t had one of those in years! My grandmother still had one, if I am correct, right up until she passed away. You know the nice things about those? When you made phone calls to companies that have all the push 1 for this, 2 for that, 3 for the other, and 4, 5, 6, 7 for so on, they used to have the “if you are calling from a rotary phone, please stay on the line” and you would be transferred directly to a live person! I used to pretend I had a rotary phone just to avoid all the waiting and aggravation with the button-pushing. Now, I don’t think they offer that option, so I just keep pressing “0” in the hopes that I’ll eventually get to a live person. It doesn’t always work, though. đŸ˜¡

Anyway, I was looking up Batman videos, specifically the theme and the Batmobile song and found them! Sometimes, videos I post disappear, so for now at least, here they are:

This song, one of my favorites when I was a kid, was hard to find. Someone in our family has a bunch of old 45s and this song is on one of them. Bring up any memories?

And, lastly, a tribute to the Bat Phone:

I have many other photos of things from Calhoun Pickers that I found interesting or amusing that I will eventually share. Until then….

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

