Associations

Here are more photos I took of items from the Calhoun Pickers place. I’m posting these because we are going on another road trip to New England, shortly, and many of these items remind me of things from my New England heritage, whether it be of family or the area. Also, I haven’t written anything in ages, so….

First up is this old Singer sewing machine. It reminds me of my paternal grandmother. She died just a few years ago at the ripe old age of 102! Imagine all the changes she witnessed throughout her life–technology, travel, health care–too many to name. There were many changes she was resistant to, though, including microwaves (never owned one), cell phones (she still had the one old rotary phone on the wall, as far as I know), computers (fogettaboutit!), coffee machines (had a glass, stove-top percolating coffee pot–I have one, too, that I occasionally will pull out and use in her honor–plus they’re cool to watch and hear), new furnishings (she had the same furniture all my life and it was probably there well before I was born), new fashion clothes (she always said that new clothes were very cheaply-made–who could argue with that?), and the list goes on…which brings me to this sewing machine. Grandma was an accomplished seamstress and also crocheter of afghans and lace doilies. While I never witnessed her using her old Singer in my lifetime, it was always on its cabinet in the little hallway right outside her bedroom, by the stair well and although in pristine condition as far as I could tell, it probably had many, many hours of use. It was a beautiful machine, more like a piece of artwork than this more industrial-looking model: a glossy black with gorgeous gold filigree and other vivid colors painted on the body–just beautiful. I have no idea where her machine is now, but every time I see an old Singer, I associate it with Grandma and hers.

IMG_0856

These next two photos are of cookie jars. Cookie jars remind me of my maternal grandmother, the one who lived on the Farm. While both of my grandmothers always, ALWAYS had food available, she would have cookies and numerous other sweets for the offering. (My other grandmother usually had either tapioca pudding or maple walnut ice cream.) Obviously, the barn jar reminds me of the Farm and the lighthouse reminds me of Coastal New England.

IMG_0858

IMG_0857

Is there anything more to be said of these lighthouses? I doubt you can find too many homes that are on the coast of New England or any coast, perhaps, that don’t have some homage to lighthouses. They’re just fascinating structures, aren’t they? I’m sure you’ve seen the incredible photos of gargantuan ocean waves crashing up and even over lighthouses and yet they remain standing–solid, unyielding and ready for the next challenge. Being a first-hand witness to that must be amazing, as well as a little scary. I wonder if any of the lighthouse keepers ever got used to it? Probably not.

IMG_0860

Having already mentioned the Farm in other posts that I’ve written (it’s capitalized on purpose, as it was such a huge part of my life and deserves a proper name status), is it any wonder that I am and always will be intrigued by tractors, especially old ones, and even toy ones such as you see below? You know the old saying “they don’t make ’em like they used to”? Case in point, here. Imagine the little child that was the recipient of this adorable, pedal tractor all those many years ago. They were probably just as excited as Ralphie was when he got his Red Ryder BB Gun in the movie classic, “A Christmas Story”. Well, maybe not quite as excited.

IMG_0868

I love lots of old things, not just classic toys, but also clocks and radios. This was a big floor model that was from the glass tube era. I think I may already have written about an old clock radio I had when I was a kid. It was that pale pink that I despised, with gold accents, but it worked and I loved to turn it on and watch the tubes light up, get warm, and hear the crackling and popping as I listened to the old A.M. stations. If I had to guess, I’d say this one is from the 1950’s, although I’m no expert. It has more metal as opposed to glass on the inside than my little pink one did. I prefer the even older ones from the 1930’s that were more unique in their shape, like cathedrals, as opposed to this more boxy design. Regardless, they’re both pretty neat to see, when you come across one. So different from today’s technology.
IMG_0985

IMG_0986

There’s always such an array of odd things at this place, Calhoun Pickers, including dolls. Granted, some are gorgeous, but many are just creepy. I found this old timer sitting up on a shelf next to another doll, an old gal who, based on her red hat and purple dress, obviously represented the Red Hat Society. This old guy, with his hat, overalls, and work boots, reminded me of any hard-working old man you might see out in the country. His face isn’t creepy, so much as wizened and of a gentle, humorous countenance. He looks like he’d have a lot of interesting and entertaining stories to tell of his life. Assuming he was a real man.Which he isn’t. He’s a doll.

IMG_0888

The last picture I will post is of this Asian print. I’ll assume it’s Chinese, but what do I know? I laugh every time I see one of these or a similar tattoo, because unless you do research, do you rrreally know what it says? I imagine that there is some company overseas that is putting them out with a grin, because it says something like “Foolish Consumer” or things much worse or perverse that I won’t post here in case my mother reads this. Perhaps it really does say “friends”. We’ll give it the benefit of the doubt.

IMG_0872

And what does this remind me of, especially with our upcoming trip? That I will have access and finally be able to eat good, quality Chinese food, complete with my bottomless pot of complimentary Chinese tea! You have no idea how excited I am for the culinary delights I shall foolishly consume! Lobster, steamers, good Italian cooking that’s not a chain, amazingly delicious, full-fat, creamy ice cream, and whatever else I can get my teeth into. Don’t worry, I won’t be a glutton, but I am going off of my “trying-to-adjust-my-horrible-cholesterol-levels-through-diet-manipulation” diet for a week or so. I will be sure to share some of the photos of our trip, including the food, at some point after we return. Don’t hold your breath, though, because there will be a whirlwind of crazy activity in our lives when we get back that includes wisdom teeth removal, moving into a college dorm, moving into a new house, and so on. Until then….

 

About rebelwife

New England wife of a Southern man relocated back to Alabama.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

